Nighthawk 650 issues, anyone?

Beegreenstrings

I have a 1984 Hond Nighthawk 650. CB650SC.

It was my dad's only new bike he ever purchased. He rode that thing all the time. I think it was his only get away from working his ass off most of his life to be sure I and my brother and sisters got what they needed.

He gave it to me a few years back, wanted to take it to Cycles-R-Us in Medina and drop it off, and I would not let him! It's been in my garage for a few years now and I have tinkered with it from time to time. But, I have no knowledge of this thing!

He stopped riding it when it died on him at my uncles house. Would not refire. I put the jumper cables to it and it fired right up. However, it will not stay running and has a miss.

I have replaced the rectifier and the stator (with the new upgraded design) supposed to be a better one for that bike)and a coil pack. Still same issues .

DOES anyone have knowledge of these issues with these bikes? I would love to make it streetable again. Truthfully I would love to return it to him so he could ride it again... Any help would be much appreciated.

Well, I have one of those in pieces scattered all over...

Sounds like the battery is shot.

Determine if all plugs are firing properly. If not, find and fix.

My first guess is the carburetors. They have to need cleaning by now.

Replacing the stator was ok, they were known to die just from old age.

If I were a betting man, I'd say carbs.

Run some Seafoam through it and see if that makes a difference.

I second that. I had an '85 nighthawk, when I bought it it ran fine. Then it started shutting off at random times. I had the stator replaced, and the carbs cleaned and balanced and it ran like new. They are actually really fun bikes to mess around on. I miss mine at times...although I looked like a Shriner riding it.