'77 GS750 Bogs on throttle

Aerik

Okay, so I've been tinkering around with this problem for a few months, and I'm finally getting annoyed enough to ask for help.

Siouxsie, my '77 Suzuki GS750, accelerates smoothly at up to a quarter throttle or so. If you apply more than that, however, she makes a noise like you'd make if you attempted to gargle without water, and will actually stall if you let it keep doing that at idle. You can 'roll up' to full throttle by increasing it gradually or feathering, but there's no real acceleration at that point.

Here's what I've tried so far:

The jets, airbox, and pipes are all stock.

The air cleaner is clean and in good shape (it's a Uni, and has been freshly oiled).

The mixture screws (this model has separate air and fuel screws) are at spec.

The carbs have been taken off, inspected, and cleaned several times, with no change.

The plugs are pretty new, and made no difference. Two were somewhat rich at last inspection, but that's been more or less adjusted out.

These carbs don't have the normal synch ports (I've been told I have to get something to thread into them somehow), so I've had to settle for bench-synching.

Can anyone think of anything else I should try? Or is my bike just being a 33-year-old Suzuki? We work on stuff all the time, but we're not mechanics, so don't hesitate to point out anything I might have missed.

is it just on 1/8 throttle? 1/4 throttle? etc? if so it sounds like jetting. if its on lower throttle try bigger main jet if its in full open throttle try smaller main jet. Your altitude and humidity could be effecting it as well. Is the filter open or is it encased? could possibly try drilling holes in the case which would allow more air flow. just some ideas