Shoop

Unicorn Found

I've been riding my FZ6 for almost 5 years now and I still love it. But I was thinking that I could get the wife to ride with more often with a bike that has better ergos for the passenger, so I was thinking of an FJR. I mentioned this to @JustinNck1 who promptly told me that he had seen a great deal on a 2016 in the FJR forums. 

I titled this as a unicorn because used 2016's are so rare and one for $8000 with a measley 31000 miles is beyond rare.

697364312_JacksFJR1.jpg.b88529eeb875143f212c4a79210b557c.jpg1830334238_JacksFJR2.jpg.453dea08b04f54c07887a2868ca84d30.jpg

I was worried that this larger bike wouldn't be as much fun in the twisties. But it's great. My neighbor and I ran 26 & 800 today and it was great. 

The bike is much heavier to maneuver in a parking lot but it handles wonderfully.

Edited by Shoop
  • Beer 1
  • Upvote 2

Glad to see everything worked out for you. The deal seemed too good to be true, but sometimes you just get lucky.

Very nice FJR, may have one of those in my stable one day!

Why are 2016's so rare? First year of the new gen? Best year of that gen? 

6 minutes ago, TimTheAzn said:

You got me curious so I googled it... 

In December 2015 Yamaha introduced a revised FJR for 2016, with, among other changes, a 6-speed transmission (both in standard and automated versions), slipper/assist clutch, LED head and tail lights and LED cornering lights.

1 hour ago, TimTheAzn said:

2016 is the fourth year for a Gen3, but had several updates. Plus everyone likes the blue.

2 hours ago, TimTheAzn said:

Tim,