High mileage BMW (car) maintenance

redkow97

Wife hates my car. Wants something nicer. Next time it needs a $500+ repair, I foresee it being up for sale. 

2 options:

1) I buy something nicer, but practical. Think 2010 civic Si 4-door, or if I'm being honest, probably not the Si model...

2) buy something older, higher mileage, but keep the corolla to drive all winter, and a day or two/week to keep miles off the 'nice' car, and leave the bike rack mounted, pull the XR, etc.

I am gravitating to 2004ish BMW 3 series, but would consider almost anything "classy."

part of me likes driving a beater. Another part of me understands where my wife is coming from and thinks, "I'm a fucking attorney - I should drive a nice car, damnit."

that said, a judge (who I respect a ton) drives a 2013 civic.  He also looks like the type of guy who wears a t-shirt during sex...

• Upvote 1

Also, I'm open to anything reasonably priced that looks classy. 

I found several Lincoln LS with 86k miles in the $3500-4500 range. 

Buying someone's grandpa's car isn't too out of the question. 

I will tell you that my boss's 2010 BMW was in the shop with $1000+ repairs needed about every month for the last 3 years. He just sold it and bought a Tesla. I think his mileage was around 100k at the end. 

Cant speak for how the car was maintained before he bought it though. He picked it up in 2013 I think. 

I commute 25,000 miles/year. New is not an option. I would have 110k on it before it's paid off. 

Under $10k (preferably under $7500) and manual transmission. Must last to 200k or beyond.  Economy is a big plus, but classy or sporty is a bonus. 

First gen Lexus IS, Acura RSX, 3 series, fully optioned civic, focus or fiesta high-trim models, Mazda 3, etc are all on my list of options. I just want to steer clear of lemons like the Mini Cooper. 

Wife is pickier than I am on looks. I would enjoy a Miata. She says it's a "Barbie car."