600cc or 1000cc for starter bikes?(The never ending bike search thread!!)

yoshiii

Hello

I am new to riding, passed my Ohio Basic Riders course a month ago.  I am 6'1" and about 228lbs. 

I am looking for a 600cc bike to get for my first bike, but as I am looking, I am finding some 1000cc bikes the same price or cheaper than some of the 600cc bikes I am finding.

I am going to buy a sports bike like a R6 or CBR500rr or 600rr or maybe even a Suzuki.

Edited by 2talltim

Just now, Tpoppa said:

Neither a 1000 nor 600cc sportbike is a good choice for a first bike.

My instructor suggested that I get at least a 500cc bike. He noticed how I was having problems on the small 250 bikes at the class and he came up to me and suggested I get sometime bigger, said it would be easier for me to ride.

8 minutes ago, MidgetTodd said:

I meet a lot of new riders that choose to start on 1000s while I'm at work. I'm usually able to keep most of them alive but the damage is often permanent. 

Take Tpoppas advice. 

This.

You can find a lot of 500-650cc twins for cheap. 60hp is more than enough for a new rider. People do start on 600cc supersports but they are a lot less forgiving and most people will advise against it. As for 1000cc bikes, if you don't have good throttle control and riding habits you will get yourself into trouble really really fast. 

• Upvote 1

17 minutes ago, Tpoppa said:

Horsepower is more important than engine size.

A Ninja 650 twin is a good choice for a first bike.  A 600cc inline 4 sportbike is not meant for new riders.

Ok so like a CBR.  Not trying to be rocket man, not racing on the streets.

5 minutes ago, redkow97 said:

Show up to an OMRL race and watch what 250 lbs guys can do on a 100cc bike. 

Whoever "instructed" you that a 250 was too small would likely get embarrassed by a good rider on a 250. 

The bike was too small for me and it sucked riding it.