6.0 power stroke owners - got questions.

baptizo

I'm starting to lean towards buying a used 6.0 power stroke and I'm a total newb with respect to diesels, in general, much less the Fords.  

From what I've gathered, a bone stock is preferable vs. anything modified.  

Anything to look out for on bone stock 6.0's?  I'm okay with 200k + miles but between the egr, head bolts, oil cooler, FICM, and other known issues, what should I look for?  

Talk to carwhore. He sells a butt load of these trucks and knows them inside and out. We happen to have a guy here in Columbus known for bulletproofing these motors, and carwhore's dealership does work with him.

Carwhore crossed my mind but I don't think they'll have anything in my budget.   As for making the 6.0 bulletproof, hell yeah, that is a must if I get one.  

I'm probably going to have to go back home to NC to find a clean one, though....everything up here is a modified rust bucket with no service records or receipts. 

Unless you're doing some heavy hauling on a daily or at least weekly basis, a monster turbo-diesel as a DD is kind'a like swatting flies with a 6# sledge.  I've had several Fords--an F250 4x4 with the 5.4 gas and my current F150 2WD XtraCab with the 4.6 gas--and they have been nearly flawless over the several hundred thousand miles I've driven them.  The newer Triton blocks are pretty stout motors that, with the VVT, put out plenty of real-world torque at decent efficiency.  I routinely get 18 MPG in mostly town driving and have seen 21-22 MPG on long interstate trips.  A couple of years ago, I hauled a 16' box trailer with 3 bikes and gear to CO and back at 70-80 MPH on I-70 and averaged over 14 MPG.  I'd recommend staying with the '09 and later models that had the 6-spd tranny.